OSHO Chakra Breathing Meditation ®

About the meditation:

This active meditation uses deep, rapid breathing and body movement to open and bring awareness, vitality and silence to each of the seven chakras and thus into your life.

The accompanying music and bells energetically support the process and indicate the beginning of each stage. The meditation is best done on an empty stomach.

All chakras lie deep within, rather than on the surface of the body. The following “map” is used to indicate their approximate locations:

The meditation is to be done with its specific OSHO Chakra Breathing Meditation music.

You can find link for the music below.


The meditation lasts one hour and has two stages. The meditation is over when you hear three gong beats. Your eyes remain closed throughout.

First Stage: 45 minutes

Stand with your feet a little apart, your body loose and relaxed. With open mouth breathe deeply and rapidly into the first chakra, with equal emphasis on in and out breaths. Keep your attention in the pelvic area, where the first chakra is located. Breathe in a rhythm that feels comfortable and become aware of the feelings and sensations of the chakra.

Each time you hear a bell, move this same deep, rapid breathing up to the next chakra, letting your breathing become more rapid and gentler. You will take about twice as many breaths in the seventh chakra than in the first.

You can shake, stretch, rotate or move your body and hands as you feel, but your feet stay in one spot. Once you set the breathing and body in motion, the movement will become continuous and effortless. Your awareness remains primarily with the sensations of the chakras.

After breathing in the seventh chakra, you will hear three bells. Now let your breath and awareness turn and fall back down through each chakra, your breath slowing from chakra to chakra. You have about two minutes to reach back to the first chakra. Let the whole chakra spectrum from top to bottom blend into one rainbow of energy.

After this sequence, stand silently for a moment, then start the next sequence. You will complete three full sequences upward and downward.

Second Stage: 15 minutes

After the third breathing sequence, sit relaxed and in silence. Remain a witness to whatever is happening within, without judgment.


More detailed instructions for this meditation are given in Meditation: The First and Last Freedom, by Osho.

Music for the meditation available here:

To read more about why Osho Active meditations are best suited for you, read:

Check out our upcoming courses here:

Interested in experiencing OSHO meditations? Check out our upcoming courses here

Our Schedule